Category Menu

Saguenay, Quebec

Saguenay is a city in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec, on the Saguenay River, about 200 kilometres north of Quebec City. This city was formed in 2002 by a merger and annexation of smaller jurisdictions, including Chicoutimi, founded by the French in 1676.

The city of Saguenay constitutes a territory equivalent to a regional county municipality. Together with the regional county municipality of Le Fjord-du-Saguenay, it forms the census division of Le Saguenay-et-son-Fjord. Prior to its use as the name of the city, the term "the Saguenay" had already been used for the whole Saguenay River region.

The city is divided into three boroughs: Chicoutimi, Jonquière and La Baie